กลุ่มวิจัยโครงข่ายไฟฟ้าอัจฉริยะและพลังงานหมุนเวียน
(Smart Grids and Renewable Energy : SGRE)

1. Vision statement

Clean and sustainable economy in the 21st century demands an advanced electric grid which is smarter than the traditional electricity infrastructure established since the end of the 19th century. “Smart Grids” is an integration of the electric power grid with the digital information and communication technology. Bidirectional flows of electricity and information within the Smart Grids will enable enhancement of reliability and energy efficiency, introduction of renewable energy resources and demand responses, and afford more active roles of customers.

In the recent years, there have been a lot of movements in Thailand related to Smart Grids technologies. The Department of Electrical Engineering and the Center of Excellence in Electrical Power Technology, Chulalongkorn University, have jointly established Smart Grids and Renewable Energy (SGRE) Study Project in 2010 to catch up the forthcoming Smart Grids technologies and to support Thai electric utilities in the fields of Smart Grids and Renewable Energy.

The strategic research area of SGRE is one of the outcomes of the SGRE Project, under which faculty members from various research areas collaborate and contribute their expertise to the multidisciplinary areas of the Smart Grids technologies. This SGRE program is a cross-disciplinary master-degree program which incorporates the new technical areas with the core technical subjects of the power engineering to provide a solid foundation in Smart Grids technologies and prepare the future engineer for the emerging field of networked power.

2. List of SRA elective courses

1.  Required Courses:   9 credits

2102601 Electrical Power and Energy Technologies in Smart Grids
2102602 Information and Communication Technologies in Smart Grids

and select 3 credits from mathematical courses

2102502 Random Signals and Systems
2102504 Introduction to Mathematical Analysis
2102505 Introduction to Optimization Techniques
2102507 Computational Techniques for Engineering

2. Elective and Approved Courses:

select 9 credits from the list of elective courses as given in the curriculum which are relevant to Smart Grids.

3. Thesis: 18 credits

Thesis related to Smart Grids and Renewable Energy Technologies.

3.  List of EECU faculty members involved in this SRA

Professor Bundhit Eua-arporn   Ph.D. (London)
Email: Bundhit.E@chula.ac.th
Professor David Banjerdpongchai   Ph.D. (Stanford)
Emial: bdavid@chula.ac.th
Associate Professor Watit Benjapolakul   D.Eng. (Tokyo)
Email: watit_b@hotmail.com
Associate Professor Thavatchai Tayjusinant   Ph.D. (Alberta)
Email: taytaycu@gmail.com
Associate Professor Kulyos Audomvongseree   Ph.D. (Tokyo)
Email: Kulyos.A@eng.chula.ac.th
Assistant Professor Komson Petcharaks   Dr.Tech.Sc. (ETH-ZURICH)
Email: Komson.P@chula.ac.th
Assistant Professor Suchin Arunsawatwong   Ph.D. (Manchester)
Email: suchin.a@chula.ac.th
Assistant Professor Somboon Sangwongwanich   D.Eng. (Nagoya)
Email: somboona@chula.ac.th
Assistant Professor Wanchalerm Pora   Ph.D. (London)
Email: wanchalerm.p@chula.ac.th
Assistant Professor Naebboon Hoonchareon   Ph.D. (Purdue)
Email: naebboon@gmail.com
Assistant Professor Surapong Suwankawin   Ph.D. (Chula)
Email: surapong.su@eng.chula.ac.th
Associate Professor Chaodit Aswakul   Ph.D. (London)
Email: Chaodit.A@chula.ac.th
Assistant Professor Surachai Chaitusaney   Ph.D. (Tokyo)
Email: surachai.c@chula.ac.th
Assistant Professor Suvit Nakpeerayuth   M.Eng. (Chula)
Email: Suvit.N@chula.ac.th
Dr. Channarong Banmongkon   Dr.Eng. (Nagoya)
Email: channarong.b@chula.ac.th

4.  Contact information of SRA coordinator

  • Assistant Professor Somboon  Sangwongwanich   D.Eng. (Nagoya)     Email: somboona@chula.ac.th